Post 3 – One Moment

December 3 – Moment. Pick one moment during which you felt most alive this year. Describe it in vivid detail (texture, smells, voices, noises, colors). (Author: Ali Edwards)

A single moment from this year?  Sheesh.  This is a hard one.  I could pick a moment from class – you know that moment.  The one where you actually see the lightbulb on top of the student’s head explode with a clear, bright light?  They smile, you smile; even if the rest of the class is clueless, even if the rest of the semester sucks, you know you got through to them in that one moment.  I had several of those moments this year, and I cherish every one of them.

I could talk about that moment I stood on top of a mountain in NZ, brandishing a replica of a Lord of the Rings sword.  There was a light breeze, a blessing in a place where the average wind is 100km an hour and where the tour guide is trained in emergency rescue just in case anyone gets blown away (literally).  We crossed a rivier about three feet deep to get to this mountain.  I am standing on the ledge Peter Jackson was blown off of during the filming of the movie.  The smile on my face is ridiculously huge, and I am one with my own personal geekdom.

I could talk about the moment when I was playing cards with my mom early in the year.  She was still recovering from multiple surgeries last year, and the slow healing that brought forth.  Her smile and utter delight as she beat the tar out of me – absolutely priceless.

But I’d rather talk about something much more mundane.  I can’t even remember what day this was or if it was a single day at all or a morph of multiple days together.  Stressed out from writing, or not writing, feeling blocked and stuck and like the task ahead of me what larger than life and more than I could handle.  Chris comes home from work and simply gives me a hug, wrapping his arms around me and rubbing my back.  He smells good, like only he can and the soft cotton of his hoodie soaks up s a few stray tears.  I sigh, knowing if nothing else in the world, in my world, my life is working, this hug is.  It reminds me that the things I worry so much about are not all that important, that there is plenty of happiness to be had as long as I am open to it.

Total and utter bliss.

  1. #1 by arcticwren on December 3, 2010 - 2:36 pm

    Nice. I went from being terrified (that’s a big sword, afterall!) to weepy in the space of two paragraphs. I like that.

  2. #2 by My Reflection Pool on December 3, 2010 - 3:26 pm

    Thanks. That is perhaps one of the best comments about my writing I’ve ever gotten.

    What was particularly impressive was how HEAVY that sword was! I mean it’s a replica of a movie prop! But it was awesome, regardless.

    Oh and the picture is a little deceiving – there is only a two foot drop behind me, and then the side of the mountain. 😉

Leave a Reply

