Post 6 – Make

December 6 – Make. What was the last thing you made? What materials did you use? Is there something you want to make, but you need to clear some time for it? (Author: Gretchen Rubin)

Make.  Such an interesting word all by itself.  Make.

What do I make?  The other day I made a lasagna and it was really good.  I can’t pinpoint when it happened but sometime in the past few years I went into what I lovingly call “Food Survival Mode.”  Most of my meals are quick, easy, and reasonably healthy.  I love to cook, and to bake especially, but I haven’t made the time to do it lately.

The reason the lasagna was remarkable was because I made it from scratch instead of picking up one from the freezer section of the store.  “Food Survival Mode” often demands such things since the time it takes to put together my own lasagna is a lot longer than the quick pause in the freezer asile of my local grocery store.

But we had just returned from New Zealand, where we ate out at least once a day for almost two weeks and I wanted something home cooked, something that couldn’t be satisfied by an empty paper box.   I’d like to say I labored over it for hours but I had just read a recipe that said you didn’t need to cook the pasta before you layered it which, to someone from an old school Italian household, was close to culinary blasphemy.  So I tried it and it turned out great.  I had a couple of friends over to eat that night and everyone had seconds.  It was that kind of good.  So good we almost forgot dessert.  Almost.

Some part of me feels like taking “make” and talking about cooking is a copout of sorts but it really is symbolic of where I am right now.  So much of “regular life” has been put on the back-burner simply out of necessity.  I cannot wait until the time I can no longer feel the weight of the dissertation on my shoulders.  It’s so close I can almost taste it and I hope it tastes as good as that lasagna did.

  1. #1 by SteveO on December 7, 2010 - 6:31 am

    Love it.
    And I’m sure that your dissertation will be as yummy…
    Certainly the pulling it out of the oven will be!
    🙂

  1. Tweets that mention Post 6 – Make | myreflectionpool -- Topsy.com

Leave a Reply

