Post 8 – Beautifully Different

December 8 – Beautifully Different. Think about what makes you different and what you do that lights people up. Reflect on all the things that make you different – you’ll find they’re what make you beautiful. (Author: Karen Walrond)

Beauty.  It looks like such a simple word, and as many simple things tend to be, it is deeply deceptive.  I feel like so much of my life has been complicated by beauty, by trying to figure out and define myself by someone else’s definition of beauty and beautiful.  It just dawned on me the other day how you never see ads for wrinkle cream for men, but that almost every ad I see (thanks to the few I watch on Hulu) are for products that claim to “help” women reduce wrinkles or age spots or whatever other crap that shows up on your skin and makes you feel like you’re no longer 20 and have easy to care for, flawless skin.

Well guess what?  I’m no longer 20 and I’m ok with that.  I see some “fine lines” starting on my brow, no doubt created by the fact that I squint at a computer screen for far too many hours a day.  The truth is I LIKE THOSE LINES.  They are mine.  They are part of what I’m becoming, part of what makes me unique.

From time to time my mom, who is 76, will mention that she wants to get a face lift.  I always tell her she’s beautiful just as she is and I’m not even saying it to placate her desire to look younger.  My mom is a knockout.  See?

July 2010Her smile is amazing, and it’s easy to see in her eyes all the joy that life has to offer.  I hope I look just like her as I get older, a process that doesn’t scare me, I think, like it might scare many people.  Like I said in my Let Go post, I’m pretty happy with who I am, and can accept that I am not like other people and that is what makes me unique, and beautiful.

I light up around my friends, when we goof off and make each other laugh.  People often refer to the wrinkles around your mouth as laugh lines and I’m apt to wonder, what is the alternative?  Should we *not* laugh because it might cause wrinkles?  Really?  I think from now on I’m going to look at every line, every curve that appears on my face as if it is a giggle unto itself.  Why would I want to remove my giggles?

  1. #1 by arcticwren on December 9, 2010 - 10:55 am

    Yup, your mom is a knock-out… and that gal next to her isn’t bad, either! 🙂

    I long ago gave up trying to fit the “norm” of beauty, and got far more beautiful when I followed my own heart! I try to instill that in my daughter, as well, and thank the powers that be, I think she *gets* it. She definitely has her own quirky sense of style that comes from her likes and dislikes, rather than something dictated to her by society or merchandising. Here’s to being truly happy with who we are!

  2. #2 by My Reflection Pool on December 9, 2010 - 12:42 pm

    It scares me all the influences on young women these days. So many images, so much photoshop retouching! I am glad you are mindful about it! And glad she’s got her own style.

    Here’s to a 2011 filled with awesome things that make us feel great about being US!

Leave a Reply

