Post 13 – Action

December 13 – Action When it comes to aspirations, it’s not about ideas. It’s about making ideas happen. What’s your next step? (Author: Scott Belsky)

This is such an appropriate prompt for today.  What’s my next step?  I hit the “Send” button this morning on an application for a job that is well suited to my teaching experience, and is the kind of thing I’ve been working towards.  It’s a rough market for college level teaching jobs, so I am hopeful with a dash of skepticism.

I spent a lot of time on my application letter, really tailoring it for this position rather than using one I already had written.  I know, I know – that is what you’re supposed to do.  But this time I *meant* it.  Every word I wrote was sincere and aimed at this school.  I was pleased with the result and in the end that is really all I can ask of myself.

 

Earlier this year I had pretty much talked myself out of ever applying for a full time job at a college or university.  If there is one thing I’ve learned in the Ph.D. program it’s that I am less suited to the politics of the academy than I originally thought.  I knew I had a short fuse for such things – I generally just say what’s on my mind and let the outcomes fall as they will.  It’s not always a great policy in the work place, and certainly not when you’re walking a fine line with advisers who want you to be seen (on their resume) and not heard.  At all.

Luckily, this experience didn’t diminish my own love of teaching.  There is nothing more invigorating for me than my time in the classroom.  It’s exhausting most of the time, just the sheer performance of it, but it is worth it in the end.

So here’s to hoping putting myself out there leads to great things.

  1. Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

