Post 15 – Five Minutes

December 15 – 5 Minutes. Imagine you will completely lose your memory of 2010 in five minutes. Set an alarm for five minutes and capture the things you most want to remember about 2010. (Author: Patti Digh)

spring break with my mom wine tasting at Ceago.  the sex toy party.    submitting the revised draft of a paper for publication.  playing “literary pictionary” with my students in 302.  teaching technical writing and coming up with the quick draw assignment that I’ve used in several other ways since then.  relearning that I’m often at my best when I am off the cuff teaching. (chose your own adventure teaching as Julie calls it.)  finishing the data collection for the dissertation on my birthday.  waiting for the sun in a very late arriving and very cool temp summer in the PNW.  painting with chris on a hot summer night.  having my first drink with friends from high school.  finding out david and I had been at the same concert years before and didn’t know it then b/c facebook didn’t exist.  erik’s tarot reading and its frightening accuracy.  three writing intensive days at the coast. wrote 30 pages and set the foundation for the rest of the dissertation, perhaps the most important work I did all year.  the walks on the beach.  starting my last year in the phd program.  carol saying, “your dissertation is almost done.”  NZ! kicking ass at the conference, taking names, too.  seeing the LotR’s sites.  enjoying time with chris.  saying at the end of almost every day of the vacation “this was an awesome day!” taking so many pictures I don’t know what to do with them all. returning to the states with a new outlook.  wishing for peace with my family.  loving my mom and all her craziness.  planning a chill xmas with a living tree.  more games and giggles then I can imagine.

  1. Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

