Prompt 27 – Ordinary Joy

December 27 – Ordinary Joy Our most profound joy is often experienced during ordinary moments. What was one of your most joyful ordinary moments this year? (Author: Brené Brown)

Christmas was an extraordinary day.  It symbolized much of what I’ve worked towards in the last year where several of the separate paths of my life have intersected.  Although I didn’t get to go home and see my family, I’m happy with the small community I had in my midst.  We played games, literally, all day long and I decided early to make the food all appetizers so that we could snack while we played.  Great food, fun, and good company.  I couldn’t have asked for more.

But the ordinary moment of joy was at the end of the night.  Chris put in a video, Emmet Otter’s Jug Band Christmas, which he had watched as a kid.  We all enjoyed its sweet sappiness together, and it was a moment then, while I was curled up on the couch with Chris, that I realized how much joy there is in my life and how much I have to look forward to in the years to come.  That’s what I plan to manifest for 2011 – a sense of joy and community.  Now that’s something to toast to on New Year’s Eve.

  1. Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

