Prompt 28 – Achieve

December 28 – Achieve

What’s the thing you most want to achieve next year? How do you imagine you’ll feel when you get it? Free? Happy? Complete? Blissful? Write that feeling down. Then, brainstorm 10 things you can do, or 10 new thoughts you can think, in order to experience that feeling today.

(Author: Tara Sophia Mohr)

When I read this prompt last night, I literally laughed out loud.  But it wasn’t a giggle or a belly laugh but instead a loud HA! that suddenly erupted like a bark.  Chris looked over at me, smiling at my phone and I said, “I think this is the prompt I’ve been waiting for all month.”

 

What to achieve: easy – finish the dissertation and graduate.

How will I feel?  Elated and relieved.

Brainstorm ideas/things to do now: not so easy!

10.  Accept that I did enough work this year to take the next few days off.

9.  Remember that it doesn’t have to be perfect, just done.

8.  Remind myself that my observations are important and valuable.

7.  Stop constantly second guessing #8.

6.  Breathe.

5.  Enjoy the process by accepting that revisions/additions/modifications are just as important as original ideas.

4.  Be thankful of my supportive committee.

3.  Breathe some more.

2.  Dance.  Do some yoga.  Be somatic.

1.  Show love to myself, my boyfriend, my friends, my family.

 

This was a lot harder than I thought it would be.  It is so easy to think about how happy and excited I’ll be when I finish the dissertation and graduate.  It’s a lot harder to think about how I can feel that way NOW.  All my life I’ve had this feeling like that next BIG THING that is just down the road will be the one that makes me feel accomplished and complete.  I realized several years ago that I’ll always have that feeling because there is always something else down the road.  It is important to stop and enjoy where you are and acknowledge that every little piece, moments of joy, pleasure and frustration, are part of what makes up the picture of your life, your own personal puzzle so to speak.  The picture wouldn’t be complete without all the many steps along the way.  How about that.

  1. #1 by arcticwren on December 28, 2010 - 12:20 pm

    That’s pretty good. I only have two pieces of advice to add to what you’ve written: don’t forget the accomplishments you HAVE achieved along the way (and how you really have had quite a few), and, when working on the computer (or gaming!), don’t forget to BLINK! /me smiles

  2. #2 by My Reflection Pool on December 28, 2010 - 10:32 pm

    It’s so funny that you say that – I mentioned in an email earlier today to a friend that same thing. Remember all the accomplishments that got you to THIS one. And then, of course, forgot to add it here. Thanks for the reminder.

    And blink. Yes . . . that. 😉

  1. Smile. | My Reflection Pool

Leave a Reply

