Reality Sets In

Looking over the box of library books that I used while writing my dissertation, my eyes fill with tears.  Seems strange that a box of books could make me cry . . .

Are these really worth crying over?

I turn to Chris and he gives me one of those hugs and sob silently for a few moments.  He quietly reminds me that yes, this closes a chapter of my life but that a new one is just beginning.

Of course, that new chapter is filled with such uncertainty I have a difficult time embracing it. Letting go of this box might be just what I need to let go of the expectations I had finishing the Ph.D. – no one is going to swoop down from on high and give me that perfect job and it’s going to be up to me to make that future happen.

Guess it’s time to get to work . . .

, , , ,

  1. #1 by knotrune on April 10, 2011 - 2:56 pm

    I just encountered your blog on the Postaday page. As I am half way through a PhD it is interested to hear how you feel on completion (congrats!) Especially as I am taking a break from it for health reasons and am very much in two minds about going back to the intensity of it all! Thanks for sharing your feelings.

    • #2 by My Reflecting Pool on April 11, 2011 - 12:17 pm

      I am glad to meet you and thanks for the congrats! It feels (mostly!) good to be done!

      I am not sure I would head down this path again now that I am at the end of it. The past few years have been some of the most stressful I’ve ever experienced and I have a difficult time weighing the good vs. the dreadful. Anyway, taking a break is probably a good idea. 🙂

Leave a Reply

