50 Things that Make me Feel Normal

I am participating in a new writing group (or trying to at least since it seems they are more of an east coast group.)  It’s called Silent Writers and the call is to write for an hour a week silently.  It’s Tuesday nights at 9pm.  Usually, I’ve thought about something I want to write about or at least formed some words in my head.

But all my words right now bounce around my head to the theme of OMG APRIL IS EIGHT WEEKS AWAY!  See, I am scheduling my dissertation defense for the first week of April and I have a lot to do before then and it’s kinda freaking me out.

So then I saw a couple of posts on a theme: 50 things that make you feel normal.  Here is the original and the first one I read.  Both are from excellent blog writers and I enjoy reading their stuff very much.  In an effort to be more Zen and in the moment which is never easy for me, I am going to attempt to do this as unedited as possible.  So here goes:

1.  Eating an orange.
2.  Snuggling with Jasmine by my side.
3.  Breathing.
4.  Having dinner with Chris and catching up on our days.
5.  Feeling the warmth of the sun on my face knowing so many people are experience snowpocolype across the country.
6.  Missing snow days.
7.  Typing/writing my thoughts down free form.
8.  Writing for school.
9.  Prepping for class.
10.  Teaching when I feel crappy and remembering why I am doing this.
11.  Wool/cotton blend socks.
12.  Fleece slippers.
13.  Flannel pajama pants.
14.  Drinking water.
15.  Looking at pictures from NZ.
16.  Drawing.
17.  Painting.
18.  Laughing.
19.   Sighing.
20.  Sleeping on my back and snoring.
21.   The weight of my book-bag on my shoulder.
22.  My water bottle.
23.  Matilda’s meow.
24.  A hug from Chris.
25.  The hum from the heater.
26.  Watering plants.
27.  Singing.
28.  Buying daffodils at the grocery store.
29.  Pie.
30.  Wine.
31.  CHEESE.  (Wow, I can’t believe it took me this long to think of cheese!)
32.  Netflix.
33.  Talking to my mom.
34.  Texting Julie or Kathleen.
35.  Walking to class, especially in anticipation of great discussions of literature or lit theory.
36.  My red coat.
37.  Listening to the Glee soundtrack in the car and singing at the top of my lungs without a hint of shame.
38.  Tea.  (Home brewed from loose leaf only.)
39.  Coffee. (Preferably made by someone else and all fancy with cinnamon on top.)
40.  Chocolate cupcakes with white frosting.
41.  Oatmeal.
42.  Vacuuming.
43.  Washing laundry (but not folding or putting it away).
44.  Dancing.
45.  Yoga.
46.  Watching The Guild.
47.  Reading.
48.  Loving, physically and emotionally.
49.  Gaming and giggling with good friends.
50.  Knowing that with all I know I still have so much to learn.

, , ,

  1. #1 by arcticwren on February 2, 2011 - 7:53 am

    Congrats on coming up with such a nice list! I tried Silent Writers for one month, but it was too hard for me to set aside that hour – it’s smack in the middle of family time. But I found another prompted-writing group that I’m going to give a try. It’s called “100 Words”. The prompt is a single word, and you are to write 100 words – exactly 100 words – in response to that word. You can use any form you want: poetry, story, narrative, list, whatever – but it must be 100 words. Then you post what you have written on your blog, and link your blog to the 100 Words site. Since I’m a snippet-type of writer, I think this might be really fun, and help to get those creative juices flowing again. The new prompt just was announced this morning, so my mind is chewing on it a bit. We’ll see where it takes me!

    • #2 by My Reflecting Pool on February 2, 2011 - 10:58 am

      100 words! I love the idea! I am going to have to try that out! I am pretty much a prompt junkie right now, trying to break myself out of only writing for the dissertation and reminding myself that I really do enjoy writing. 🙂

  2. #3 by Elizabeth - Letters from a Small State on February 2, 2011 - 10:06 am

    Oatmeal! Why don’t I eat it more often? It’s so true. Also my mom made Cream of Wheat when we were kids. It’s weird and wonderful. Basically just an excuse to eat brown sugar.

    I was surprised how many simple chores ended up on my list (yours too I see). I already understood my relationship with weeding, but laundry popped up as well as shoveling. Love the list.

  3. #4 by Elizabeth - Letters from a Small State on February 2, 2011 - 10:07 am

    Are you on Twitter?

    • #5 by My Reflecting Pool on February 2, 2011 - 10:52 am

      Hey Elizabeth! Thanks for the comments! I am on Twitter – @mizzlizz.

      It’s funny – I really had to think about this list because my gut instinct was to think about things that make me *happy* and normal has a slightly different edge to it. I think normal is somewhere in between that sense of the mundane and the extraordinary.

  4. #6 by Olivia Tejeda on February 2, 2011 - 10:16 am

    Hi Regina, Thanks for mentioning Silent Writers. I hope you are able to join in and that the time works for you. I also do a West Coast version at 9 pm Pacific, but I’m usually the only one there for that, and don’t promote it as much. I’d be happy to schedule a different time if that works best for you and ArcticWren or any Pacific coasters, for that matter.

    I love your 50 things list. My favorite is #37. I don’t watch Glee, but I love singing at the top of my lungs in the car. It’s the best!! ~ Olivia

    • #7 by My Reflecting Pool on February 2, 2011 - 10:55 am

      I am going to make it work as much as I can! 9pm Tuesdays works pretty well for me. It’s kind of cool actually because I am more of a morning writer so the time pushes me out of my comfort zone and that is excellent. 🙂

  5. #8 by sara on February 7, 2011 - 10:27 pm

    i feel you on #10. i felt absolutely miserable out of sorts last week and went into class feeling terrible and came out feeling like a human being again. it was incredibly refreshing.

    i was thinking about doing the silent writers thing this week but i guess i don’t really understand how it works. i’m such a newb. 😉 still, it would be nice to feel productive in the writing realm.

    • #9 by My Reflecting Pool on February 7, 2011 - 10:56 pm

      There is really not that much to the silent writer’s gig – just tweet when you start with the hashtag #silentwriters and then I usually post what I’ve produced. Some people just give updates, etc. I’ve only seen one other person doing the west coast 9pm time on a regular basis but it seems to have a bigger east coast community. I set that hour aside to write here instead of the dissertation. I’ve done it a couple of weeks now and I end up looking forward to it all week!

Leave a Reply

